SIAM Workshop on Network Science 2020 (NS20)

Network science is concerned with the structure and dynamics of graphs (and generalizations of graphs), dynamical processes on such graphs, and the design and analysis algorithms that compute with and on them. The goal of the SIAM Network Science workshop is to promote cross-fertilization and new research among the communities that study and apply networks, both inside and outside SIAM.

NS20 is being held virtually July 9 and 10, 2020 with free registration.
Even though registration is free, you still need to register here so that we can send you the Zoom meeting links:

Audience Member Guidelines
  • JOIN EARLY. We will start everything on time, so make sure to join the Zoom meeting at least a few minutes ahead of time.
    • Please turn your microphone and video off during the talks.
    • For Contributed Talks, save your questions until after the presentation.
    • For Plenary Talks, you may ask clarifying questions during the talk, but save other questions for after the presentation.
    • There will be 5 minutes for questions after contributed talks and 10 minutes for questions after the plenaries.
    • Indicate that you have a question by using Zoom’s "raise-rand" feature or stating "I have a question" in the chat.
    • Chairs will unmute and call on persons with questions one at a time.
    • Once called upon to ask a question, turn on your video and use your voice to ask the question.


The workshop will run over Zoom on a U.S. Pacific time zone schedule on July 9 and 10, 2020. Meeting links have been sent to your registration email.

Thursday, July 9, 2020 (all times Pacific Daylight Time)
Session Time Content
Contributed talks 1 9:00am–9:25am Forecasting the 2020 U.S. Elections: a Compartmental Modeling Approach.
Alexandria Volkening, Daniel Linder, Mason Porter, and Grzegorz Rempala.
9:25am–9:50am Scaling Choice Models of Relational Social Data.
Jan Overgoor, Pakapol Supaniratisai, and Johan Ugander.
Short break 9:50am–10:00am
Plenary 1 10:00am–11:00am News Sharing, Persuasion, and Spread of Misinformation on Social Networks.
Ali Jadbabaie.
Coffee break / Discussion 11:00am–11:30am
Contributed talks 2 11:30am–11:55am Moments of Uniformly Random Multigraphs with Fixed Degree Sequences.
Philip Chodrow.
11:55am–12:20pm Scaling Laws in Empirical Networks.
Alexander Ray and Aaron Clauset.
Lunch break / Discussion 12:20pm–1:25pm
Contributed talks 3 1:30pm–1:55pm Debiasing Graph Embeddings via Metadata-Orthogonal Training.
John Palowitch and Bryan Perozzi.
1:55pm–2:20pm P-Norm Flow Diffusion for Local Graph Clustering.
Shenghao Yang, Di Wang, and Kimon Fountoulakis.
2:20pm–2:45 The Infinity Mirror Test for Graph Generators.
Satyaki Sikdar, Daniel Gonzalez, and Tim Weninger.
Coffee break / Discussion 2:45–3:15pm
Poster lightning talks 1 3:15pm–3:45pm
Poster session 1 3:45pm–4:30pm

Each poster in a separate meeting room:

Poster session 2 4:00pm–4:45pm

Each poster in a separate meeting room:

Friday, July 10, 2020 (all times Pacific Daylight Time)
Session Time Content
Contributed talks 4 9:00am–9:25am Mutual Reinforcement at Higher Order.
Desmond Higham, Francesco Tudisco, and Francesca Arrigo.
9:25am–9:50am A Metric on Directed Graph Nodes Based on Hitting Probabilities.
Zachary Boyd, Nicolas Fraiman, Jeremy Marzuola, Peter Mucha, Braxton Osting, and Jonathan Weare.
Short break 9:50am–10:00am
Plenary 2 10:00am–11:00am Network Modularity and total variation minimization.
Andrea Bertozzi.
Coffee break / Discussion 11:00am–11:30am
Contributed talks 5 11:30am–11:55am Prioritized Restreaming Algorithms for Balanced Graph Partitioning.
Amel Awadelkarim and Johan Ugander.
11:55am–12:20pm Rounding Out Structural Rounding.
Madison Cooley, Blair Sullivan, and Brian Lavallee.
Lunch break / Discussion 12:20pm–1:30pm
Contributed talks 6 1:30pm–1:55pm Impacts of Structural Perturbations on the Synchronizability of Diffusive networks.
Camille Poignard, Jan Philipp Pade, and Tiago Pereira.
1:55pm–2:20pm Flexibility Signatures in EEG Temporal Networks of Working Memory.
Austin Ferguson, Alana Campbell, Aysenil Belger, Marc Niethammer, and Peter Mucha.
2:20pm–2:45 Emergence of Hierarchy in Networked Endorsement Dynamics.
Nicole Eikmeier, Philip Chodrow, Mari Kawakatsu, Dakota Murray, Kate Wootton, Ritwika VPS, Rodrigo Migueles Ramírez, and Daniel B. Larremore.
Coffee break / Discussion 2:45–3:15pm
Poster lightning talks 2 3:15pm–3:45pm
Poster session 3 3:45pm–4:30pm

Each poster in a separate meeting room:

Poster session 4 4:00pm–4:45pm

Each poster in a separate meeting room:

Workshop Organization

If you have questions or concerns, please contact the chairs:

  • Austin Benson, Cornell University —
  • Dane Taylor, University at Buffalo, State University of New York —

The wonderful individuals comprising the organizing committee that reviewed submissions are Zachary Boyd, Aydın Buluç, Aaron Clauset, Bailey Fosdick, Tomas Gedeon, David Gleich, Aric Hagberg, Heather Harrington, Franklin Kenter, Danai Koutra, Daniel Larremore, Nishant Malik, Madhav Marathe, Naoki Masuda, Peter Mucha, Joel Nishimura, Braxton Osting, Fabio Pasqualetti, Tiago Peixoto, Giovanni Petri, Ali Pinar, Mason Porter, A. Erdem Sarıyüce, Ingo Scholtes, Santiago Segarra, Saray Shai, Per Sebastian Skardal, Natalie Stanley, Blair D. Sullivan, Charalampos Tsourakakis, Francesco Tudisco, Johan Ugander, Kevin S. Xu, and Jean-Gabriel Young.

The Steering Committee providing SIAM leadership consists of Aric Hagberg, Madhav Marathe, Ali Pinar (Chair), Dan Spielman, and Blair Sullivan.

Background art
The background network image was created by Kiran Tomlinson with his Site Graph tool.